• Mon news: Pfizer wins legal patent battle over GSK. Hospitals face hurricane-induced IV shortages. Activist investor takes $1B stake in Pfizer. MicroRNA pioneers win Nobel. Jude Bio debuts with $100M. See more on our front page

To My Former Roche Colleagues

Anonymous

Don't for one second you think you're still GNE. You're not. The foundation of Genentech was originally personified as a "high academic," environment that was a more of an element of scientific rigor than a business. It became a failed dream to combine the google and subsequent Silicon Valley world with your world. All you did was create a consensus culture where MBAs from one BIG program lick the ass from another. What this creates is a world where "group thought," reigns supreme and "initiatives," are created to justify headcount. Now if I have a masters from __somewhere special__ without any relevant experience AND I spent 3 months at ZS or BAIN, I can be a GPM/AD and make crucial decisions that not only effect patient lives, but those who have relevant experience to the particular brand. Oh, but we get to wear jeans everyday - that means we have that "casual intensity," I was so promised.

What business do you do? You manufacture medicine for "unmet need." Congratulations on that, what actual medicine meets that standard? NAME ONE. (we'll go A-Z)

Actemra (nope)
Activase (nope)
Avastin (nope)
Erivdedge (nope)
Gazyza (nope)
Herceptin (nope)
Kadcyla (nope)
Lucentis (see avastin, nope)
Perjeta (nope)
Pulmozyme (nope)
Rituxan (nope, for everything)
Tamiflu (maybe)
Tarceva (ha)
Xolair (nope)
Zelboraf (nope)

YOUR HOPES AND DREAMS
______

Esbriet (nope)
PDL-1 (nope)
ALK-inh (nope)
AFD (nope)
______

So, unmet need. Hmmmn.

The diabolical vampire of Swiss Culture is inside you like a rabid viral vector. It's there and won't go away. Have fun getting sucked dry. Your lawyers won't budge, and the ability to compete, nay - sell, will become more non-existent as you continue to worship: