Forced resignation - Question

Anonymous

Got a question.

Currently interviewing for a CNS position coming from a company that I have been working for for over 12 years. Years ago, I was forced to resign with a company (big pharma) because of using stock bottles of medicine to get access to doctors. This happened back in 2001. I think on my record it says that I resigned but I was FORCED to resign due to policy violations. It was stupid and many reps did it back in the day. I just got caught. Anyway, should I be worried that this might come out?

Im on my second face to face interview and I'm sure they will do a background check but I don't know how far back they will go. This happened almost 14 years ago ! What if anything can that company say about my resignation if asked by this new hiring company? I didn't lie per se to them. I just told them I simply resigned which is the truth but will this come back to bite me in the ass? By law, what can a company say about forcing a rep to resign to another company that asks or conducts a background check?

Thanks for your help !

<

If they didn't get negative feedback when they hired you the first time, why are you so concerned they will have a problem now? After 12 years, all you probably are at the previous company is a name , number and that you resigned.....
\

If they didn't get negative feedback when they hired you the first time, why are you so concerned they will have a problem now? After 12 years, all you probably are at the previous company is a name , number and that you resigned.....
\

Good point but I was just curious what might be said or legally what a company can see even if they forced you to resign. It shouldn't be a problem, though, you're right...Happened so long ago.

All they can find out is hire date, termination date. If you resigned, then (if your company had the website for this) all it will show is that you resigned.