Confessions from a former AZ PSS

Truth Hurts

This is a true story. Lets go back to summer 2008. Rumors were circulating all summer about AZ cutting its salesforce. The summer passed and the death cries were getting louder. I was a 10 year veteran of AZ and Symbicort sales trainer with several leadership positions and in good standing with both my DSM and Regional Business Manager. SO as fall came around, I was honestly not worried. They announced the day that we would get "the call" and to stay by the phone. I was 90% certain that I was safe. It was mid November 2009, a few weeks before thanksgiving. I got the call from the DSM and she said that I was planned to be cut. She was so sorry. There was "nothing she could do" I was in total shock ! How could the Sr. Member of the sales team be cut? I had good reviews, I was friends with all my doctors, and I had 10 years at AZ. I was a level 3 making $87K base (after a COLA increase). I was respected in my area as a great rep. I worked from 9-3:30 every day and got 6 signatures. I was paid a severance of 2 weeks for every year so I got one big check. I was forced to sign a legal document in order to get that money. It said I would not sue AZ. I got 6 months free COBRA and 20 weeks if I signed legal form. I spent Thanksgiving and Christmas with family and kids and everyone saying "sorry" to me. My goal was to get a job after Jan 1 and save some severance. In the next year, I collected unemployment and started aggressively sending out resumes to everyone I knew. I sent resumes to EVERY pharma and biotech company twice. I said to myself this is my opportunity to finally get out of pharma sales and into a "real career" that was respected. I sent out several hundred resumes in 2009 and 2010. I must have emailed 200-250 resumes. I got 3 pharma interviews. I never made it past first round. The District hiring managers told me "we had over 100 applications for this open territory" and "how many times did you make presidents clu