• Mon news: Ventyx gets boost from Sanofi. PhRMA IRA legal challenge gets new life. AZ breast cancer drug disappoints. Teva’s once-monthly schizophrenia med. AZ gets FDA approval for first self-administered flu vaccine. See more on our front page

Job at NIBR

Anonymous

I am an academic researcher considering a job at NIBR, but early in the process. My understanding is that Novartis has a pretty good pipeline coming up over the next 5 years, as compared to other companies. My questions are for people who are familiar with NIBR:

1. What is the working environment like for senior investigators? How much latitude to control their lab? How much do bureaucracy or politics get in the way of target characterization and drug discovery?
2. Do bonuses actually get paid? What percentage of salary is usually given?
3. Same for stock awards - are they actually paid? What percentage of salary (or range)?
4. What is the 401k arrangement? How much does the company offer upfront and as matching?
5. What is the pension plan arrangement? I understand it is defined contribution - how much would the company contribute for a 50-55 yo? Is there a mandatory contribution by the employee?
6. For travel do employees have some say on airline choice and times? does the company ever pay for business class?
7. Is there a gym at Cambridge NIBR?
8. Relocation packages - what is offered? Any sign on bonuses?

Sorry for all the questions but this is new to me. I have seen all the the snarky responses to other threads, so don't bother if thats all you can say.

<

I am an academic researcher considering a job at NIBR, but early in the process. My understanding is that Novartis has a pretty good pipeline coming up over the next 5 years, as compared to other companies. My questions are for people who are familiar with NIBR: