• Thurs news: AbbVie Parkinson’s drug. Arch raises $3B biotech fund. Biogen dropping failed Sage tremor drug. AZ gets sought-after Tagrisso OK. Pfizer withdrawing sickle cell med. See more on our front page

Is 38 too old to break into Med Sales?

Anonymous

I had a late jump so I only have about 3 years of b2b experience. Long story short, I managed to get some interviews either through recruiters or from direct apply. I can't seem to get by the first stage of interviews, and I seriously thought maybe its because I'm too old. All of these positions were entry level med sales of course, such as an associate role for Smith and Nephew lets say. The recruiters will ask me questions such as, When I graduated high school or at least college to see how old I am. Any suggestions for an old fogie like myself that wants to break into med sales? Are the same b2b jobs like copiers and payroll the way to get in or is there another way in? appreciate any feedback thanks

<

Unfortunately this may be an uphill battle. Not only due to your age, but more significantly because this industry is contracting not expanding.
What did you study in college? Probably not medical sales, so it's not as if this is the industry where you have education and training.
In some fields such as banking & finance age can work to your advantage.