How bad is it to have gap on resume? (From travel)

anonymous

mid to late 20's with a successful b2b and device background (4 years total).

Just took my first big international trip and realized all i have done is work since i graduated college and burn myself out. Would love to take 3-4 months off to travel and recharge batteries/evaluate life.

Is it that difficult to overcome a gap on resume? Easier if it's explainable and to say i left on my own terms and needed to travel for personal growth?

Any insight appreciated!

<

This is coming from a 55 year old RSD that is nearing retirement and has purchased a nice RV and a small aircraft to do the kind of things you're talking about. I have a couple of thoughts for you to chew on: 1st. you are in your mid to late 20s and you're already burned out on your career? If that's the case, maybe you chose the wrong career and need to take the summer off to do some soul searching. I know times change, but when I started my medical sales career as an anesthesia representative to hospital O.R.s/P&T committees, in addition to calling on psychiatry and OB/GYN to detail Rx meds, I was so proud to have been chosen and grateful for the opportunity (respectable career position, co. car, 401k, medical, 2 to 4+ week vacation to recharge those batteries, etc.), I was hanging on tight. There are thousands who would die for the opportunity. My advice is to use the generous PTO you are given each year to recharge the batteries and save the three month world tours for your retirement. Alternatively, choose a career path that is more personally rewarding. If you truly enjoy what you do for a living and not just collecting a decent paycheck, you wouldn't be burned out. That's this old guy's opinion...