No experience -I'm looking for new career opportunity

Discussion in 'Southeast Reps' started by Ashley601, Sep 4, 2014 at 10:18 AM.

Tags: Add Tags
  1. Ashley601

Ashley601 Guest

I'm young (under 30) but I have a family to support and looking to get into the pharma sales field. I have a background in Finance and several years of financial sales. Would anyone recommend how and with which companies specifically would be good to look in to? I live in the Jackson, MS area and although I have no experience in the medical/pharma industry, I am willing to work hard and I'm a fast learner. Any opinions and suggestions are welcome.

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Good luck. I've been applying to these type of positions for almost 6 months and I've only landed 3 face to face interviews and still haven't gotten hired. You are competing with recycled reps who jump ship from company to company and unfortunately all the hiring managers put those "seasoned" reps ahead of you. Even though sometimes they only stay at places 1-2 yrs at a time. No loyalty but that gets overlooked. I have a Science degree and been in sales over 5 years but still nothing. Everything has to go through electronic applications. So my friend.. Good luck

3. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Ugh... I thought that may be the trend. Thanks for your insight, Anonymous. And good luck!

4. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

I saw this earlier and almost responded but didn't because I'm busy prepping for an interview I have tomorrow. I changed my mind because you guys need some help.
    First of all, ya can't have the attitude that it's really hard to get a pharm rep job. If you meet the basic qualifications and your goal is to get one, you'll get one.
    Lots of companies hire reps without prior industry experience. There's an upside-you're not stuck in your ways, you haven't been "poisoned" by a bad culture or bad colleagues, etc.
    I got a pharma job off monster with no experience.